A Writer's Room of Requirement

A home for the many random insights that cross my mind from time to time.

The Sorting Hat of Harry Potter and Myers-Briggs Personality Typology

I am not the first person to try to decipher the method’s of JK Rowling’s Sorting Hat in the Harry Potter series.  I am also not the first person to try to apply Myers-Briggs typology to the Hat’s madness.  When we hear descriptors like brave and daring, patient and hard-working, witty and intelligent, or cunning and ambitious, we easily assume that the Sorting Hat speaks of personality traits, something inborn in the wearer.  Perhaps the truth remains more complicated and we are more than our mere birth.

Most of the metrics I have seen that combine Potter lore with personality typology try to assign only one house to each type or temperament.  I found that lacking.  While each Hogwart’s House maintains its own peculiar culture, they feature a variety of personality types.  You can’t say that Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, and the Weasley twins have much more in common than their bravery.

I also have great difficulty determining my own house.  As an ENTP, I can never decide if I should party it up as a king among nerds in Ravenclaw or jump headfirst into a myriad of experiences as a smart ass in Gryffindor.  Even outside of the fantasy, I am both an experience-addicted Army veteran and a student finishing a masters in English while writing three blogs.

When recalling the experiences that individuals had with the hat, I realized that the Sorting Hat often gives first years the choice between two houses before making its final decision.  The hat offers Harry both Gryffindor and Slytherin.  It suggests both Gryffindor and Ravenclaw to Hermione.  I theorized that each personality has up to two ideal houses.  I tried to go type by type and select the best two houses for each, but no clear pattern emerged.

I began to notice the patterns when I broke down each type by its dominant and supportive functions.  Without getting too much into the theory, we use one of our inner letters in an extroverted fashion and one in an introverted fashion.  Perceivers tend to show their N or S to the outside world.  Judgers tend to show their F or T to the outside world.  As an ENTP, my dominant function is extraverted intuition (Ne) and my supportive function is introverted thinking (Ti).  Each of the eight functions lines up well with a Hogwart’s House:

Extraverted Intuition (Ne): Imaginative and innovative, we search for new ideas, people, and possibilities.  Gryffindor.

Introverted Intuition (Ni): They examine patterns, symbols, and meanings to solve complex puzzles. Ravenclaw.

Extraverted Sensing (Se): They spontaneously seize the moment, following anything that draws their interest. Gryffindor.

Introverted Sensing (Si): They rely on a strong memory, drawing information from past experiences and traditions. Slytherin.

Extraverted Thinking (Te): They sort, organize, and make decisions.  They speak their mind. Slytherin.

Introverted Thinking (Ti): We operate from pure logic, sorting theories and solving problems. Ravenclaw.

Extraverted Feeling (Fe): They nurture relationships, promote collaboration, and validate others.  Hufflepuff.

Introverted Feeling (Fi): They rely on their values and empathy to create inner and outer harmony.  Hufflepuff.

That produces the following chart:

Personality Type Primary Function Supportive Function Primary House Secondary House
ENTP Ne Ti Gryffindor Ravenclaw
INTP Ti Ne Ravenclaw Gryffindor
ENTJ Te Ni Slytherin Ravenclaw
INTJ Ni Te Ravenclaw Slytherin
INFP Fi Ne Hufflepuff Gryffindor
INFJ Ni Fe Ravenclaw Hufflepuff
ENFJ Fe Ni Hufflepuff Ravenclaw
ENFP Ne Fi Gryffindor Hufflepuff
ISTP Ti Se Ravenclaw Gryffindor
ESTP Se Ti Gryffindor Ravenclaw
ESFP Se Fi Gryffindor Hufflepuff
ISFP Fi Se Hufflepuff Gryffindor
ESTJ Te Si Slytherin Slytherin
ISTJ Si Te Slytherin Slytherin
ESFJ Fe Si Hufflepuff Slytherin
ISFJ Si Fe Slytherin Hufflepuff

I line up with Gryffindor and Ravenclaw as expected.  The chart works remarkably well, however issues still arise.  For instance, the ESTJs and ISTJs all come across as pure Slytherin.  All other things remaining equal, they fit there.  Unfortunately, before Harry’s victory against Voldemort, that house did not take muggle born and those that supported them.  That would explain how personalities like Percy Weasley and Hermione Granger ended up in Gryffindor in spite of themselves.

Of course that brings me to the true lesson of all this.  Throughout the Harry Potter series, Rowling repeatedly tells us that we have a choice.  We determine our own actions for good or evil.  The Sorting Hat takes into account our inborn personality, our home environment, and our family history, but it always gives us a choice in the end.  We are more than the sum of our parts.  Sirius Black, Hermione Granger, Harry Potter, and even Draco Malfoy have a choice to reject their supposed fate.  A sacrifice freely given will always triumph over tyranny and fear.

If you enjoy what you read at A Writer’s Room of Requirement, would you consider donating? Funds will go to secure the domain name and – over time – lead to site improvement and additional content. Just a quarter a view could drastically help. A dollar a view would allow me to devote full time energies to the site. The button at the top of the sidebar will direct you to Paypal. Thank you. – Keith

Single Post Navigation

119 thoughts on “The Sorting Hat of Harry Potter and Myers-Briggs Personality Typology

Comment navigation

  1. Izzy on said:

    This is good, but not perfect. I’m an INTJ and it works with me, but lets not forget that Luna Lovegood is a Ravenclaw and INFP.

    • Well, actually the Extroversion and Introversion determine what their dominant and auxilary fuctions are. For example, I’m an INFJ so I use my Introverted Intuition most, which is a pretty ravenclaw trait. An ENFJ uses extroverted Feeling more, which is a primarily Hufflepuff trait.

    • Oops! Sorry, didn’t mean to reply to you, I was referring to a different comment… I totally agree with yours though.

    • Cerriwddyn on said:

      I like the theory, but I am a Slytherin, I’m ambitious, manipulative, I’m cunning, and I can get answers right away. For INTP it says Ravenclaw and Gryffindor which are not like me at all really. yes Slytherin and Gryffindor both have brave characteristics as well as intelligence in both Slytherin and Ravenclaw, but I feel that most INTP’s are Slytherin or Ravenclaw, not Gryffindor

  2. Lucy on said:

    I’m an ENFP, and according to Pottermore, I’m a Ravenclaw. I also always related to Ravenclaws (especially Luna) before I took the test. I don’t think how introverted or extroverted someone is has anything to do with the house they are put in. 🙂

  3. Claire on said:

    I’m an INFJ and I always get Slytherin.

  4. Revenclaw 🙂

  5. Hi! I love this post. It’s a fascinating way of looking at this topic and a new one for me. I love analyzing personality types, so I very much enjoyed your perspective. I think your system works better for some types than others. Personally, I’m an INTJ, and I’ve always considered myself a Ravenclaw-Slytherin hatstall who chose Ravenclaw. Meanwhile my boyfriend, who’s also INTJ, leans toward Slytherin. However, I have a lot of ISTJ friends none of whom are at all like Slytherin, which, interestingly enough, was supposed to be primary and secondary for ISTJ. I think it’s interesting that you assume one of the middle traits will be extroverted and one introverted. I think that depends on the person. some Myers-Briggs tests give you a scale for each trait. I think people who fall extremely towards the side on the last three letters but are relatively centered on introversion-extroversion will fit best in your model. But that makes sense. More than anything, I think personality has very little to do with Hogwarts houses. I don’t even think it comes down to a dominant trait like bravery. I think what you value most and why defines which house you belong in. That in my opinion is why Luna is a Ravenclaw and Hermione isn’t. If we go for personality traits, Hermione looks like the Ravenclaw. Luna values an open mind and a pursuit of knowledge and creativity. Hermione values facts, yes, but moreso she values fairness, honor (in her own, rule-following way), and bravery. So, those are my thoughts on the matter. Have a great day! 🙂
    -Kestrel

  6. I’m an ENTP and a Slytherin through and through.

    • Im also an INFP who’s always thought of myself as a Gryffindor and Ravenclaw hodgepodge. A “Gryffinclaw” or “Ravendor” if you don’t mind. Pottermore has also stated I’m a Gryffindor both times I took the test. I think it’s interesting how same personality types can end up in different houses. If Harry could have been in Slytherin and Hermione been in Ravenclaw just as easily then I don’t think it’s weird at all for all os us INFPs to not end up in the same houses. =]

  7. I’m an INFP who’s primary house is Slytherin & secondary house is Hufflepuff

    • Dionne on said:

      Omg i have never met anyone like this! Ive always gotten weird responses when i tell people that i am an infp slytherin whose secundary house is hufflepuff! Yay 💕🐍

      • I’m an INFP who’s in Slytherin too! (im not sure on my secondary house though, probably Ravenclaw).

    • Nicole on said:

      ME too. I wondered how i got Slytheryn but I’m pretty ambitious. It isn’t supposed to be like that though according to the above table.But i guess i wanna be powerful enough to protect myself as well as others if needs be and thats a Slytherin trait.

  8. Angie101 on said:

    INFP who’s in Ravenclaw 🙂

  9. The thing is, I’m an INTP, and I’m a Slytherin, my brother is an INTJ and he’s in Gryffindor, my mom is an ESTP and she’s a Slytherin…

  10. I’m INFP and I thought for most of my life I’m Gryffindor. But after some events I re-evaluated my life and decided I’m better off with Hufflepuff (what was confirmed by Pottermore’s full test). So I support that.

  11. I’m an INTJ but I’m a Hufflepuff according to Pottermore.

  12. As an INFJ who is Ravenclaw for life I approve of these findings. RAVENCLAW 4 LYFFFE..!

  13. suprisinglypointless on said:

    The internet seems to agree that Harry is an istp

  14. After reading this article, I would like refer you to 16personalities.com. I disagree with some of these categories and their matches. If you go to the website and read the personality descriptions then I think this post will be more accurate. For example, you categorized ENFJ as a hufflepuff, but the type is know as the “protagonist” trait and has a description of bravery, leadership, passion, and charisma which is better represented by gryffindor. Anyway, please just check it out, I think it really help.

    • Well, as pretty quintessential ENFJ myself, I believe I’m primarily Hufflepuff then Ravenclaw. Just as this chart indicates.

      You have to remember that “Protagonist” is just a nickname. Other popular nicknames for my type are “Teacher”, “Giver” and “Mentor”. And all of those I find better match the eF iN primary functions of the type.

      And yes, ENFJs can be charismatic and good leaders, but I can’t recall them ever being defined by bravery or passion like you say. According to 16personalities.com, ENFJs are defined as tolerant, reliable, charismatic, altruistic, natural leaders, overly idealistic, too selfless, overly sensitive, fluctuating self-esteem and struggle to make tough decisions.

      Now I think tolerant, reliable, altruistic, overly idealistic, and too selfless, all point directly toward Hufflepuff. While fluctuating self-esteem and struggling to make tough decisions point squarely away from Griffiondor.

      Charismatic leadership does sound superficially Griffiondor-ish, but all groups need leaders and the Hufflepuffs are the most likely people to follow a leader who will talk to them nicely.

      ENFJ and a proud Hufflepuff!

  15. Sorry, but I’d have to fully disagree with you on this. I don’t think that your type determines your house or vice versa; each type can be in each house because the different houses do not value (or encompass) the divisions of the types. Gryffindor is for the courageous; Slytherin for the ambitious; Ravenclaw for the valuers of knowledge; and Hufflepuff for the loyal. The closest to any of those in correlation with the MBTI types is Ravenclaw (knowledge) which can /partially/ be fitted with the Rationals of the MBTI spectrum (which you placed accordingly).
    Any MBTI can be fitted in any of the houses almost equally. The difference is the person. An INTP can value knowledge, ambition, courage, or loyalty. So can an ESFJ. It doesn’t matter. The Houses aren’t based on the same foundations as the types, and thus cannot be connected to each other on the same basis either.
    I’m a Slytherin INFJ. It doesn’t mean I’m any less like an INFJ. It simply means I value ambition more than the other three choices presented.
    Sorry if I was harsh. I truly think that the fact you’re pursuing this is integral to your understanding of the types. I hope you continue!

    • Doug on said:

      I have to disagree with your disagreeing. First off. As this blog post reads, the personality types line up with a house. They don’t determine it. So, there was no warrant for your full disagreement. It is wasted on what is presented as an opinion or insight on the subject. Second, it seems foolish to deny any possible correlations. Not causation of course. Remember, I agree with your point that what we value determines our house. Personality types don’t determine house. But, there may be correlation. By your own admission, there may be a strong correlation with Ravenclaw and the Rationals. Myself being an INTP Ravenclaw, I would agree with this idea. Are there more correlations? I think focusing on what the author of this blog listed as some of the basic attributes of the personality functions is revealing when compared to a more extensive description of each house. I’m sure you would agree that courageous, ambitious, knowledgeable, and loyal are very simplified descriptions of each house. MBTI is valuable in exploring what house you might LIKELY find like-minded people. No one is arguing that type determines house. But, type may point you in a direction that would potentially be a good fit for you. And, as the author concludes, any direction given ends up being secondary to what you personally decide.

  16. INFJ. I can’t imagine being anything but Hufflepuff.

  17. I am Slytherin (Taken the Pottermore quiz twice and various others). Yet the first time I took the jung typology quiz I got INTJ with primary house Ravenclaw and secondary Slytherin. The second time I took the jung typology quiz I got ENFP with primary house Gryffindor and secondary Hufflepuff. Can anyone explain this to me? I have always considered myself a Slytherin for I am ambitious/cunning and secondary Ravenclaw for my love wisdom and knowledge.

    • Hi Wendy!
      The problem here is that you are probably taking Jung Personality tests that compare your personality to the /stereotypes/ of each personality type instead of basing it on how you actually use the cognitive functions. With the stereotype tests, your answer can change dramatically just based on your mood. ENFP and INTJ only share two functions (Te and Fi), but they are in switched places, thus making ENFP and INTJ quite dissimilar. You might not be either or.

  18. It’s odd that as an ISFJ, you have me marked as a possible Gryffindor and Slytherin. I identify with Gryff, certainly. But I identifiy closer to Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff and identify the lest with the Slytherin house. Slytherin also seems to make little sense for the ISFJ personality type given that a trait of Slytherin House is the ability for cunning and manipulation- yet ISFJ personality types are often known as the Caretaker; service oriented individuals who are often self sacrificing and low on self esteem (or whose self esteme is connected to their ability to care for and provide for others)… Which to me makes me feel like they would more closely align with the Hufflepuff house as a primary?

    • I read the chart wrong and I apologize for that. The chart actually has ISFJ marked Slytherin or Hufflepuff. I still disagree with the inclusion of Slytherin, however. Ultimately it seems counterproductive to the base nature of the ISFJ personality type. I do believe that my incorrect original reading of “Gryffindor” would actually be more appropriate for the ISFJ house, making it Gryffindor-Hufflepuff as opposed to Slytherin-Hufflepuff.

  19. Pingback: Myers-Briggs, True Colors, StrengthsQuest, and the Sorting Hat Walk Into a Bar | Graces in Spaces

  20. Pingback: WT&TT: Personality Affecting Writing Process? (reblogged) | myzania

  21. Olivea on said:

    I’m a slytherin that teeters on the edge of INFP and ENFP (but mostly INFP). I do definitely see how my lersonality type would fit into Gryffindor and Hufflepuff, but I 100% belong in slytherin

  22. lissasauras on said:

    I’m an INTP and a Slytherin. I don’t see myself EVER being Gryffindor… But I get Ravenclaw, haha.

  23. SugarQuill on said:

    I’m EXFP. I love how regardless of S or N, I’m Gryffinpuff. Gryffinpuff for life. Pottermore and all my friends and family were right afterall.

  24. Melissa on said:

    Thanks for working this out! I am teaching Harry Potter to my kiddos and I have been searching for a good way to sort them! Thank you!

  25. Kaiya on said:

    Hey! Love your post. I am curious what Harry’s combination is, because the sorting hat gave him the choice of Slytherin or Gryffindor, but that combination is not a possibility on the chart…?

  26. While I agree with what you’re saying here on a general basis, it’s definitely not a perfect formula. I am very much an ENFP, and very much a Ravenclaw, hufflepuff secondary… Gryffindor isn’t me *at all*… I have had tests tell me I am, but other tests put me firmly in Ravenclaw and ask anyone who actually knows me? Totally a Ravenclaw. I’m the type that takes extra classes for fun, researches everything just because I love learning, etc. I tend to have an answer for a question someone asks/wonders before they realize I even researched it… because information is power and that matters to me. So, it’s not a given perfect formula… not saying it works for none, obviously, but it’s just not as cut and dried either.

  27. Seoltang on said:

    I’m Gryffindor according to pottermore but i’m ISTJ tho

  28. ENFJ on said:

    I would classify myself as an ENFJ pretty clearly, yet I have always felt that I would have been a Gryffindor.

    Both the Pottermore test and this are telling me I fit into Hufflepuff or Ravenclaw, however there is something in an online test that is obviously lacking compared to the means of the sorting hat, or even people that know you.

    Although this test seems to line up pretty well for a lot of people, I’d just like to point out that the Sorting Hat places you not only where you’d fit in (i.e. Slytherin or Gryffindor for Harry) but also where you’d be happiest, which cannot be determined by an online quiz.

  29. I am an INTJ and I always come up slightly more Slytherin than Ravenclaw (on weighted quizzes) but ultimately, as the author pointed out, it comes down to choice.

    As a person who *does not* identify with (or understand) the espoused value of blood purity I would still align myself Slytherin house over Ravenclaw for the sole purpose of undermining the blood purity agenda from within.

    As Slytherin house is so insular and traditionalist it would take a sheep in wolves clothing (a true Slytherin if you will) to generate a significant cultural shift.

    Personally I believe the story about the founder Slytherin abandoning the school over a disagreement based on the inclusion of first generation magical children is pure blood propaganda designed to rationalize their extremely irrational position (and I have always been a little disappointed that JK has continued to make Salazar out to be a racist nutbag). More likely he raised very *valid* concerns about the potential for exposing the magical populations to persecution and then was unable to reach a compromise (or his intentions were misunderstood and he was vilified for refusing to give in to the the other three founders).

    Excellent chart, thanks for the diversion; I was busy fuming over “Horned Serpent House” of Ilvermorny (actually all of it is a big bag of cultural appropriation excused by a disturbingly colonial mindset), as Okla Chata (California Clan) I have to say this; I was offended by her description of Skinwalkers as psudo animagus (they aren’t and to play with that is a very taboo thing, they are very real to a lot of people)……horned serpent is a very general name for a supernatural entity that is important to several tribes, there are lesser serpents who’s horns have healing and spiritual properties but they are NOT magical animals in the way that unicorns and dragons are magical animals, they are depicted as self aware and are intelligent. Greater horned serpents such as Sinti Lapitta are akin to deities (I put this in the plural sense because different tribes have different names for the great horned serpent and some tribes see them as malicious/ dangerous while others see them as benevolent/ wise) and to turn them (sum total) into a *mascot* is likened to having a “Jesus House” because he shared his wisdom and a toenail clippings so she could make a wand for her kids.

    So if I was sorted into a house at Ilvermorny it would most likely be Horned Serpent House (btw the graphic depiction of the serpent as a triquetra smacks of Irish Catholicism, as I doubt, based on the story thus far that she is attempting to evoke Odin, and the curled rams horns is very specific to Europe *not* North America) and I would be pissed off! The house that stands for the mind and scholarly pursuit was founded in gross ignorance and based on a dearth of academic acuity (the cognitive dissonance is apparent.)

    I have issue with the whole genesis of Ilvermorny (why the off brand Hogwarts?) and the house names in particular (note: the mascots for the Hogwarts houses are heraldic animals and not magical at all, nothing offensive there) but Horned Serpent House (as Sinti Lapitta is very dear to me from an ethnic, cultural and spiritual perspective) in particular, has fanned the flames of my ire.

  30. Michelle on said:

    I can’t speak for the other types, but in my case you classified INTJ very well. I spent over a decade harboring a deep love for Ravenclaw. I get Ravenclaw on the bulk majority of Internet quizzes and am thrilled when I can actually find merchandise for the house. I based my wedding colors off the movie version blue and silver house colors, man! So imagine my surprise when Pottermore goes and throws me in Slytherin. Talk about an identity crisis. “Ambitious” was the last word I’d use to describe myself, mainly because it reeked of evil CEO overtones. Then I realized, I must be borderline between the two houses, because as much as I love knowledge, I also love to see it applied towards tangible goals. I’d probably have a choice between the two, and let me tell you, I’m keeping my Ravenclaw swag.

  31. Kristi S on said:

    Before I took the Sorting Hat quiz, I’ve always been branded an ISFP. Some quotes put me at ISTP, INTP, and INFP, but ISFP in the majority. On Pottermore, before the site was renewed, I was Ravenclaw. Now I’m Hufflepuff and every non-official quiz puts me at Hufflepuff. Even the “Are You a Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff” quiz.

  32. I really appreciate your good, if highly unscientific, efforts to relate Myers-Briggs personality traits to Harry Potter Houses. I have three comments. Firstly, your analysis may be hindered by the problematic nature of the functions, even among Myers-Briggs proponents. If this approach is necessary, then both the N/S and T/F traits should each have a function representative of each house. I suggest that, in this framework, Ne is a better trait for Hufflepuff and Fe is a better trait for Gyrffindor. Secondly, I will suggest to those with different preferences than those suggested, that this picture can be complicated by marginal preferences. For example, INFJs who are only marginally more N than S, or F than T, may feel close to Slytherin (which makes sense in this analysis). Thirdly, MB measures your innate preferences, while the sorting hat takes into consideration your choices. Your innate personality may make you a Slytherin, but your choices make you a Gryffindor (such as Harry), for example. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this article.

  33. INTJ. I got Gryffindor on pottermore and get a mix of ravenclaw and gryffindor on other quizzes

  34. I took the MBTi test and always gets ISTJ, then I took Hogwarts house and always get Ravenclaw. Why is it different with the chart?

  35. I am an INTJ and I, too, always considered myself a Ravenclaw-Slytherin hatstall, with me arguing for Ravenclaw and the Sorting Hat seriously considering Slytherin.

    Imagine my surprise when I get sorted into Hufflepuff by Pottermore and various other sites. I spent a bit of time reading about how the sorting works, and I think understand why – Hogwarts house is sorted based on what you value the most, not about your personal attributes.

    The truth is, INTJs are not just cold, calculative villains. We are cold, calculative villains with a goal in mind. We don’t do evil for evil’s sake. An INTJ may abandon his family now to run off to a place of prestige to further his career, but the end goal will almost always be for a (self-perceived) greater good – e.g. to allow his family to live in endless luxury in the future, or to be attain the power to change the world for the better. In the midst of all that, there’s a lot of Ravenclaw smart and Slytherin cunning in play to get to the top, and this is the attributes that the world sees, but deep down inside, the end point is always about the Hufflepuff loyalty to friends/family/the world.

    That end is what the Hogwarts Houses is all about. It’s not about how smart or brave or cunning or loyal you are. Hermione is the smartest student of her time, but she was in Gryffindor, not Ravenclaw, because she valued courage over intelligence.

    What I’m trying to say is, it’s really hard to sort a Myer-Briggs personality type into any one house, because the way our cognitive function works doesn’t always correlate with the values we hold dear.

  36. cas-sauntered-vaguely-downwards on said:

    Quite honestly, I somewhat object to your sorting of ENTP; ENTPs tend to be cunning, ambitious, morally flexible if the situation calls for it, and curious among other things. I am an ENTP and a Slytherin with only a hint of Ravenclaw, and I always feel rather insulted when someone compares me to the Gryffindor House.

  37. Some truly prime content on this site, saved to my bookmarks .

  38. Yeps! I’m an INFP and I got Gryffindor and Hufflepuff most of the time! Brilliant post.

  39. NicoleBuddy on said:

    I have always thought that my primary house was Ravenclaw and secondary was Slytherin, and when I took the Myers-Briggs I got INTJ. This matches your chart exactly.

  40. Alysse Jacobs on said:

    This is great! I, too, am an ENTP. While I am a pretty steadfast Gryffindor all the time, Ravenclaw does tend to be my secondary (though a close second to Slytherin – Hufflepuff a waaaaaaaay distant last).

  41. Me and my family suits this very much, except for my sister, she is INFP and she got Ravenclaw, and both suits her very well. Perhaps Ravenclaw is third on INFP?
    Thank you for posting this, it has been on my mind.

    I am INTJ and I thought I was hufflepuff, but I am Slytherin which suits me best minus the pure-fixation shit. Maybe some bunch of Death-Eathers and evil-doers went to Slytherin despite their inner-self because it was their choice and wish to be in Slytherin, that could be a reason why Slytherin got terrorised with so many of the evil-cult-crazies…
    Maybe a lot of the noblemen too (pure-blooded) wishes the hat to put them in Slytherin for the prestige of it? I will not have it that slytherins are the bad-ones! All personalities can go bonkers!

  42. Edweis on said:

    It’s really interesting, and funny in a way. Judging from the MBTI test I took three times, I’m a ESTJ, which should put me in Slytherin without a doubt if you follow the charts. But the thing is, I always got my lowest scores for Slytherin when I took the House tests.
    I have a hard time sorting myself, I’m usually either put into Hufflepuff or Gryffindor, even if I think I have some Ravenclaw’s traits (curiosity and drive to learn).
    The first time I registered to Pottermore, it put me in Gryffindor, but I never felt like I was really one. When I did it a second time some months later I got into Hufflepuff and I guess that’s the house I identify the most with.

    As people already mentioned, I know we can’t really line up MBTI personalities to Hogwarts Houses, but I still think there’s some correlation. And as I had never felt connected to Slytherin, I’m intrigued.

    PS : What’s even stranger, is that the DiSC results confirm the MBTI’s ones : I got 36% for Dominance which is Slytherin (and 30% for Steadiness which is a Hufflepuff trait).

  43. Thanks for this article. All of this is very interesting and I appreciate all of the thought you put into sorting all of this out. I do wonder if you should rethink two categories though: Ne and Te. I think you may want to switch those houses.

    According to your description Ne people are “Imaginative and innovative, we search for new ideas, people, and possibilities.” That actually describes Slytherin more than Gryffindor. One of the Slytherin keywords is “resourceful”. Slytherins tend to be very creative, out-of-the-box thinkers that are always looking for new ways to achieve what they want.

    Your description for the Te people is “They sort, organize, and make decisions. They speak their mind.” This actually describes Gryffindor much more. Gryffindors are people that quick to make decisions. They tend to see a situation, make a decision and take action (sometimes without considering all of the consequences). They also tend to wear their heart on their sleeve so are not afraid to speak their mind.

    I think if you flipped the two, that would be a more accurate description of the two houses and it would solve that Slytherin/Slytherin problem that you mentioned at the end of the article. Otherwise, I think everything else makes perfect sense.

  44. Taralyn Wilmer on said:

    This is brilliant!! And very accurate for me! I’m an INFJ, and my main house is Ravenclaw & my secondary house is Hufflepuff. I was shocked to see my Myers Briggs personality line up exactly with my houses. Thanks for making this!

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

